Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

RMD withdrawals

edited June 2019 in Off-Topic
Are banks, brokerages, & fund companies required to hold a certain amount of federal taxes when taking RMD's ?
After 2 replies I''ll add that RMD was at Vanguard & e-mail sent their way Friday. I saw no mention of tax withholding.

Have a good weekend, Derf

Comments

• Not sure about anything other than Fidelity where I have the option of whether or not they withhold taxes.
  • edited June 2019
    Hi @Derf, I'm not a tax expert. From experience, I believe the IRS requires a 10% withholding, at the time you take the RMD, unless you tell the brokerage, bank or fund company not to do so. However, you will be required to pay any taxes owed when you file your annual return. They may require you to sign a form stating that you do not wish any taxes withheld.

I have lined below information that supports my above comment.

https://www.google.com/search?client=tablet-android-alco&ei=VxYOXbv1DI70tAWajriwAg&q=Does+IRS+require+taxes+to+be+withheld+on+RMD?&oq=Does+IRS+require+taxes+to+be+withheld+on+RMD?&gs_l=mobile-gws-wiz-serp.12..33i299l2.1043635.1043635..1047603...0.0..0.227.227.2-1......0....1.........0i71.9B_S9KjGYLs
  • edited June 2019