Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Comments

• Sheesh!!! WHEN you buy, not WHAT you buy. This guy says he manages money for his clients. Does he get paid to write for Kiplinger?
  • I’ve been dollar-cost-averaging into DODGX via my employer's 401k since August 2009 and slowed down in May/June this year, and have been pleased with the results to-date (I plan to pick up again once we see the market drop a bit). I’ve been counter-balancing DODGX with another technology heavy large cap fund (JGIRX) in the same 401k, which seems to diversify the lg cap investment spread a bit more. In regards to DODGX, does anyone have concerns for the long-term performance of this fund? I’ve planning to hold and add more for the long-haul, but if there are red flags I should consider, I’d love to hear your take.
  • Just had a PTSD flashback to Ron Insana, a "journalist" who thought he could be an investment manager. FWIW, HERE is his firm's web site -- I have a feeling that mean-spirited folks might be tempted to call him "tweedledum," but of course I would refrain from doing so ... at least to his face ;-).

As for his advice presented in the linked article, I think that it is ill-informed as I suspect that he is focusing on trailing returns which were awful mainly due to 2008. Sure, all 3 funds had poor results in that year, but DODGX and LLPFFX had good performance before 2008 and have done well since, and I would have no problem owning and adding to these funds. SLASX was a killer from 1994 to 2000, but has been a laggard in all other periods that I have studied.

Kevin