Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

OT - Best places to live for family

edited March 2013 in Fund Discussions
Hi All,

I have been an IT consultant and have been roaming around all along, from one place to another.
I would like to settle-down at one place and buy a house. Would you recommend couple of good places to settle down for a family with kids ?

Here is what I am looking for

1) Preferably medium level City (do not like very big cities or very small towns)
2) Preferably a conservative (do not mean the American conservatism) area, typical of South Asian type (may be asking too much, I guess:-) )
3) State with good Schools/Universities
4) peaceful with low crime rate

Appreciate your response/help.

Comments

• Come down to Austin, TX area.
  • Then we can form Mutualfund Observer followers investment club:-) .

Jokes apart, it is one the places that we like. I also have relatives in Dallas and Houston.
    Moreover, with 3 more cities within 200 miles range, probably a good place for job market.

Texas along with Raleigh, NC (where I lived earlier) are two coveted places for settling down.

Thanks Investor.
  • Fill out the survey and see what's out there:

http://www.findyourspot.com/
  • States which consistently rank highly in K-12 education that also have excellent universities in state include: Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Virginia, and Ohio. Consider the following cities:

Maryland: Silver Spring, Rockville, Germantown
    Massachusetts: Springfield
    New Jersey: Toms River, Edison, Cherry Hill, Trenton
    Virginia:Arlington/Alexandria, Roanoke
    Ohio: Columbus