Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Is College A Waste Of Time And Money?

FYI: Last week, I got together with a few of my old high school friends. Our educations differ. So do our incomes. As a high school teacher, my salary was the lowest. Andy, a former business school graduate, makes a bit more than me. Joe, a civil engineer, makes more than Andy

Two other friends, Moze and Jeff, don’t have college degrees. But they make more money than we do. Even better, they were never saddled with college debt. Moze drives a Canadian National Railway freight train. Jeff owns a business that sells school supplies.
Regards,
Ted
http://assetbuilder.com/andrew_hallam/is_college_a_waste_of_time_and_money

Comments

• If one is attending college on the hope of financial reward down the line then I would say that they are wasting their time and money. If one is attending in order to increase and enhance their knowledge and perspective about something they'd love to know more about then it's worth every penny and then some. It's a broadening experience.
  • edited July 2015
    1. Learning is never a waste of time. (I'll resist getting up on a soap-box here regarding college - because I recognize there's countless other ways to learn or "broaden" our horizons as Mark put it.)

2. The wealth disparity in this country is astounding. It's unfortunate that not all - especially our young - have equal educational opportunity.