Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Let's Iron out some things

I may have mentioned one or both of these funds before.
IRONX
IRNIX

Both have manager investment. Both seem to be doing what they are supposed to do. Want to know if anyone owns or has any inside scoop on these funds.

Comments

• Hi Vintage Freak,

I studied both of these funds because you presented them to the board.

IRNIX is an interesting fund as it seems to hold a good number of mutual funds and I counted at least 24 of them within its portfolio. Therefore, for me, it is a fund of funds from my thinking and carries a Four Star rating by M*.

IRONX is another interesting fund (Four Stars) and it seems to be currently holding only Stock Futures at this time and is classified a long/short fund by M*.

I have linked the M* reports on these two fund for those that would want to look at them in more detail.

http://quotes.morningstar.com/fund/irnix/f?t=irnix

http://quotes.morningstar.com/fund/ironx/f?t=ironx

Old_Skeet
  • I looked at IRNIX and what really glared at me when I researched the underlying funds it holds, they all had an expense ratios well under 1% but this fund charges 1.49%. Seems why have so many bond funds, and pay a fee on top of a fee when one to three bond funds should do. Even though I have a CFA, I keep most of my bonds and bond funds seperate for the very same reason.
  • Thanks guys, but I'm looking for some insight into "strategic" and "managed risk". Looking to get conservative here and looking for options.
  • @VintageFreak,