Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

The week that was, global etf's, various categories + heat map. Week ending April 26, 2024.

Comments

• Catch22, I believe you’re half right regarding FZDXX (FZEXX-muni sister). Yes, you have to purchase like a MF but you do not have to sell to buy. I’ve been using one or both of these MM funds for several years. And never did I have to sell to buy anything. It first checks your core account for sufficient funds, then pulls from FZDXX / FZEXX if necessary.
  • Hi @mcmarasco
    We've not had to sell FZDXX to purchase anything else, as we have core mmkt. positions. I don't know what would be the case if one had only FDZXX as a mmkt. holding; as seems to be your point with this.
    BUT, you provide a very good point about this holding.
    IS there a settlement time frame if one wants to purchase, say, an etf; without a core account, but with using the money in FZDXX?
    Thank you.
  • @catch22 - I do the same as @mcmarasco. I tend to be mostly fully invested at all times and I also hold a position in FZDXX. If I wish to make a buy the money is pulled from FZDXX as though it was my core MM account. No blips or hitches to date. If I perform a sell the funds are deposited into my actual core account from which I make a purchase of FZDXX so as to make it whole again (i.e. in keeping with Fidelitys minimum of $10K).
  • Catch, ditto Mark. I use FZDXX / FZEXX as de facto core accounts. Never had an issue with settlement either. As Mark stated, sells go into your core, then you can purchase the MM.