Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Most investors have missed the move from 10,000 to 15,000

2»

Comments

• edited May 2013
    Reply to @Desota: Dunno. My contribution to the dissolution of the thread was to try and learn more about the gentleman cited in the OP - who just happens to run an investment advisory company. Not that it's all that necessary - just out of curiosity. ... And yep - the main focus should be on the lack of investor participation vs. the dramatic gains in equities in recent past. Here, speaking distinctly as a novice, I'll observe that all those reported $$ flows in and out of funds or markets that we hear so much about (and often comment on here), really don't mean "piddely". Mr. Market's gonna do what he wants to do - regardless of inflows & outflows. Right? Or am I still missing the point?
  • Reply to @hank: Not to drag this out any further but I think the in- and out-flows mean just the opposite of "piddly." Without folks buying or selling the market just sits there doing nothing doesn't it? Or am I missing the point (again)?

With respect to your original comment, I too try to ascertain the background or credibility of cited posters/commentators/bloggers and so on. It's the right thing to do if your intention is to lend any veracity to their musings. IMHO so far Mr. Miller checks out unlike so many, many others that we both, no doubt, can list.
  • Reply to @hank:
    "Mr. Market's gonna do what he wants to do - regardless of inflows & outflows. Right? Or am I still missing the point? "