Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

My Engineer Buddy Is Now Crowing ... But, We Both Have Smiles.

edited August 2015 in Fund Discussions
My engineer buddy is crowing …

My high school buddy who became an engineer by profession has now started to crow as his 60/40 walking allocation consisting mostly 60% invested in the S&P 500 Index, about 35% in the aggregate bond index plus keeping about 5% in cash has now come to life and has bettered my recent performance. His numbers for the past one, three, five and ten year periods, tracked by Morningstar, are 6.8%, 10.0%, 10.0% and 5.6% respectively while mine, also tracked by Morningstar, on my master portfolio which uses my sleeve management system, are about 2.9%, 10.1%, 9.8% and 6.9% respectively. The above performance numbers do not reflect special investment positions (SPIFFS), held from time-to-time, as they added to our above performance numbers but not reflected in this analysis.

It seems, over the past ten year period my master portfolio has bettered his 60/40 portfolio by more than twenty percent. So, it seems active management has out performed passive management over the long haul while passive now leads over the shorter period and they both have performed about the same through the mid years.

In comparing both of our portfolios to CTFAX which is a professional run hybrid type asset walking fund based upon setting its stock and bond allocation by the varying price valuation of S&P 500 Index has returned 3.2%, 6.6%, 8.9% and 6.2% for the same respective periods. I have linked it's Fact Sheet below for those that would like to review same.