Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

"I'd love to teach the world to sing, in perfect harmony".....

edited August 2011 in Off-Topic
...........for ya young'ins, this was a Coke company theme song during the era when 8 track music tape players were still being used.

However, I digress. This is a bitch box note; of the little perversions that creep their way(s) into our lives; probably through the follies and trade agreements in DCland. Technically, this is investment related !

I was a letter writer to the state (MI) politico's back in the day and an original petition presenter in the early 70's to set the law in place to have a deposit placed upon common beer and pop/soda glass bottles so they didn't continue to be thrown alongside the roads.

Next, were local recycle centers. And now we have curbside recycle every two weeks.

That all worked out well.

Today, I wander into the local Family Dollar store and before leaving decide to have a Coke, which is rare for me.
I opened the cooler door near the checkout and placed the Coke bottle onto the countertop. Hmmmm. A tall glass bottle with the old style cap, I mentioned this in passing to the clerk and he said that there was an opener on the cooler. I noted that I would be opening this at home and still have a "church key". I did tell him that I thought this style of bottle was a poor choice for sale, as someone buying this to drink later in their vehicle would not have an easy time with popping the cap away; and 99% of buyers either unscrew a plastic top or open a poptop on the metal cans.
End of that story.