Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Fund purchase regrets

Curious as to some of your bad fund purchase regrets.

When I was a novice at this, I got sucked in by a convincing interview that a guy named Jim Crabbe did on Wall Street Week. So, I bought into Crabbe Huson Special. It went south pretty quickly.

I also got into Berger 100, just as Bill Berger retired and handed the reigns to Rod Linafelter. Linafelter had been groomed for several years, but when he took over, the fund was never the same.

Comments

• Anything run by Rob Arnott
  • edited March 2014
    HDCCX
    Turns out I bought it at the top. Watched it drop for a year before selling. It has since been liquidated.
  • FYI: I bought this fund as an IPO in 2007 and slowly watched the share price and dividend sink into the sunset. In 2012, Jill Evans & Kevin Shacknofsky were shown the door. Luckily, I held AOD in an taxable account and am writing off the loses. I would be very careful dealing with Sam Lieber and Alpine.
    Regards,
    Ted
    Regards,
    Ted
    (AOD) IPO :http://www.marketwatch.com/Story/story/print?guid=BF44E959-E476-4B9F-9E44-C1D52F12FEE0
  • AQRIX

Still like the strategy.

But AQR Funds turned out to be genuinely disingenuous.
  • In solidarity with Charles, I nominate TNEYX, an Invesco target date fund invested ~ 100% in an Invesco risk parity fund. As I watched it after buying a first chunk, decided risk parity is not for me unless it's a declining interest rate environment.