Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Full Market Movements That Move Mutual Funds

This is my first time using this network of shared information. I am not selling anything. I am reasonably sophisticated when comes to Technical Analysis and Fundamental Analysis and Computer modeling and the influences of big braking news.

But I know I don't have nearly enough information or established strategies to do better. If no-load mutual funds can go to cash just before a major sharp full market decline, and back after it hits bottom, with no costs for the trades, what is the vulnerability? Is there a big time delay between issuing the sell to cash order and the actual completion of the mutual fund sales transaction? Best regards. Bob Magnuson n333@comcast,net 978-683-5651

Comments

• edited April 2014
    Tops and bottoms don't come self announced. There are many false signals in both technical and fundamental analysis. So, responding to those false signals hurt returns if there are trading costs. However, risk management strategies can protect capital during long downturns. The downside is that these strategies reduce performance during bull surges. So, it is a compromise between beating the market and protecting capital.

Many mutual funds do this but are generally not regarded highly by the masses because the typical metrics for evaluating mutual funds emphasize returns relative to index year over year than capital protection and its cost in terms of lower relative performance.

Are you asking about mutual funds themselves going all to cash or mutual fund investors going all to cash?