Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Blind Forecasters

MJG
edited January 2017 in Fund Discussions
Hi Guys,

I am an engineer by temperament, training, and experience. I like smart folks, especially those that develop sophisticated investment prediction models. In his "The Money Game" book, Adam Smith concurs that an investor should seek advice from smart people. Of course, one issue is how to identify smart market participants.

One might suspect that carefully trained economists, who are hired by financial organizations, would nicely fit that framework. Maybe, but it's not that easy.

In the early 1990s I counted Elaine Garzarelli as one such market-wise forecasting hero. She had an elaborate macroeconomic computer model that accurately forecasted the 1987 equity meltdown. Since that famous forecast, her record has suffered somewhat. According to one scorecard, she is correct about one-third of the time. Anyone for a fair coin toss projection?

Equity returns forecasts for 2017 are presently dominating the media and investor exchanges. It's great sport, but it is highly likely that the projections are in serious error. The record, even for the most well informed cohort of professionals, is dismal. How dismal? Here is a Link to some research that was completed a year ago:

http://www.fool.com/investing/general/2015/02/25/the-blind-forecaster.aspx