Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Mid Caps, Berkshire Hathaway Heavy Funds And Thanks

edited February 2013 in Fund Discussions
I'm rather new at investing, and it has taken a while to get up to speed on some of the complexities of this endeavor. Having decided to pull the trigger on my own, I'd like to ask the many experts on this forum a couple of questions.

1. Are all segments of the M* blocks needed for a well-rounded portfolio? I have small caps and a great deal of large caps covered. Does one need mids or can I forgo this segment?

2. I have become enamored with Warren Buffett and his financial empire and would like to have some of his in a mutual fund. How do I find out which funds carry his stock? I looked at M* and found you can get a top ten or so funds, but how about the hundreds of others that are not listed?

3. I believe price plays a role in profits. Should I come up with an arbitrary number that will delineate funds for purchase or not? In other words is it acceptable to have a cut-off of, say 1.10 ER as a high end on whether to buy?

4. Finally, do you guys ever buy Transaction Fee funds through the brokers or is this a crazy thing to do?

Thanks for any comments that will help me navigate this fun and hopefully profitable project.

Mike

Comments

• edited February 2013
    1. Personally I've often found mid caps to be the sweet spot of the market, maybe because its often ignored. However, if you own large & small cap funds you'll most likely find mid caps mixed in with them. Sometimes what's large becomes smaller and vice versa.