Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Retirement Portpolio - pls. provide your critique

2»

Comments

• edited July 2013
    Not necessarily, although I'm not an expert in bonds so maybe others can chime in. Looking at PRSNX the largest holding is floating/bank loan and has large allocation to corporate, which is why I mentioned OSTIX (happens to be named Strategic Income as well) whose duration is about half the length with a much better track record to boot. Give THOPX a look and tell me what you think. Convertibles & floating rate funds can also be used at satellites to supplement core holdings, or an unconstrained fund such as SUBYX which has been mentioned here a few times.

HSFNX Gotcha, am personally long-term bullish on financials too. Have all the Fairholme funds so they do most of the leg work on top of positions in B of A & Wells Fargo.

PCRIX Yea, did a lot of research on commodity funds after being unsatisfied with ETF offerings. The TIPS fund is much more volatile and is down -13% compared to -6% since date of purchase. Going to liquidate it and transfer rest of money to PCLDX. Settled on FSCHX after looking at FSDPX for equity exposure.

ARIVX Know there are mixed feelings around here on this one. Can understand the conservative approach for capital preservation and Eric Cinnamond's record speaks for itself. I think it really depends on the goal of the portfolio. However, I'm of the opinion that small cap value is one of the more efficient ways for upside capture ratio so it does not make sense to put ALL my small cap eggs in that basket, but that is just me.