Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Help me Select Fund - GOODX or SEQUX

edited September 2013 in Fund Discussions
Time to churn MXXVX. Next week I will have completed the 1 year holding period to avoid redemption. I have been churning this fund for the past 3 years. As I might have mentioned this is the only investment my better half has selected. So I plan to buy it back at some point waiting patiently for the "bust". If that bust comes next month, next year, 5 years, I will wait patiently. At which point I would have even less number of funds or will sell something else.

For now, I need to redeploy. I've narrowed it down to two funds I cannot buy NTF at a brokerage. I'm leaning toward SEQUX because of its foreign exposure, while it does hold less cash, than GOODX in case of downturn. On the other hand GOODX has a $10K minimum investment which is the max I'm ready to plonk down. SEQUX let's me DCA in with a lesser minimum of $5K to start with.

I intend to eventually own all 3 funds. However right now I need to decide between GOODX and SEQUX. Any preferences?

Comments

• Dear VintageFreak: That's an easy one, SEQUX
    Regards,
    Ted
  • What happen to your fund reduction plan? SEQUX is one of the best funds ever. If you can get in, I'd choose that one.
  • edited September 2013
    My fund reduction plan is going strong. This is a fund swap plan:)

As I said I will buy MXXVX but by that time I will have got out of many more funds...

And there is another advantage of SEQUX. I can buy / manage online.
    But I see GOODX has been less volatile then SEQUX.