Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Thoughts on buying FAIRX

edited July 2011 in Fund Discussions
I'm brand new to investing (had 401K for 13 years, but never really researched or knew what I was doing before. My returns are the proof:-)). I've been spending a lot of time researching the past few months however and spending a lot of time on this site. It's been great reading. Today I was strongly considering opening a position on FAIRX. I've seen many discussions on this site about it and I see a lot of positives in the financial sector today, assuming based on recent financial earnings and with the whole US debt thing looking much more optimistic.

As far as future negatives, are there things I should consider that would hold me off from buying FAIRX right now? And I mean, I'm not concerned about our current environment. I see the US growing and specifically housing and financials for the long-term. But the things I don't understand are for instance the Europe debt issues, and is that or anything else, things that could overweigh the positive upside of financials and FAIRX?

If I do jump in, this is a position I expect to stay long on. I'm trying to build a strong core set of funds. At this point I'd be taking money from LEXCX and moving directly to opening the min. of $10K in FAIRX. If I continue to feel better about FAIRX, I can see myself adding more down the road. I also am thinking of increasing YACKX at some point and can see myslef building FAIRX & YACKX as the strongest weighted funds in my portfolio.