Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Comments

• edited February 20
    Just out of high school as a so-so student I really didn't have any clear idea of what came next. Fortunately the US still had a draft law at the time. Looking for something interesting that didn't involve shooting at other people (or being shot at, for that matter), I joined the Coast Guard. That was after passing a reasonably difficult entry exam, where I found that I qualified for training in electronics, which was my hobby.

When I read articles such as this one, showing that many businesses have absolutely no interest in the development or well-being of their employees, I have to wonder why young people would rather put up with those situations rather than look to a military alternative where they can learn skills commensurate with their ability, and then either export those skills back to the civilian world, or make a career within the military.

Given the vast technological needs of the military these days, there is a huge spectrum of career training available, along with full-time jobs. Why would you want to stock shelves in a warehouse when there are so many other interesting and rewarding things to do?
  • Off the top of my head OJ I'd guess not wanting to leave home, low initial pay, no current threat of being drafted, unmotivated to do much of anything and an aversion to discipline and/or taking orders.