Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Dentist - the solution is always a crown???/

2»

Comments

• @Joe,

The company that makes those nice machines has an average annual return of 28.9% for the last 15 years!! Can you imagine that? This has been a huge growth business and I'd say its not much of a surprise that dentists are pushing this stuff. Anyone fortuitous enough to have put $10K in the company 15 years ago now has $450K.
  • @Ted Such a classic bit, they were the best! Thanks for the Saturday morning laugh riot.
  • Actually Ted, when I was an undergraduate I used the medical school's wanna-be-dentists. They weren't perfect but they were cheap. I still have a permanent bridge they gave me in about 1970 and have never had one problem with it. The worst mistake the young trainee made was to get the placement of the shot off so that my body jerked and I temporarily fainted. We agreed not to mention it ever 'cause, gee, he was a nice guy and I was a kid too.
  • Using crowns is not necessary bad in dental restoration, at least you still maintain the full use of the tooth. Dental implant procedures are generally NOT cover under many dental insurances as they are considered "experimental" (i.e. too expensive).