Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

ETF dividends

I’m rather new to ETFs. One thing I’m confused about is the reinvestment of dividends and distributions. In my regular mutual funds, I always have dividends and distributions reinvested. However, the ETFs I’ve bought this year pay their dividends and distributions in cash. Is there not a way to have them reinvested automatically? I didn’t notice an option for that when I bought them.

Comments

• An advantage of mutual funds/OEFs is that reinvestments are easy and on the ex-div dates.

You can also turn on reinvestments for ETFs, but those are handled differently - depends on the ETF sponsor and the brokerage.

1. If the brokerage has a deal with the ETF sponsor, then, you may get a small discount on reinvestments, and reinvestments may be earlier.

2. More common is for the broker to handle this all by itself - it pools all reinvestment orders a few days AFTER the pay-date (that may be several days after the ex-div date) and executes a large market-order for its reinvesting clients.

Unfortunately, many charting services may incorporate reinvestments for BOTH mutual funds/OEFs and ETFs on the ex-div dates, so the ETF TRs shown may be a bit unrealistic.
  • I guess I’ll have to call Fidelity and talk to a rep. I usually handle everything online, but couldn’t figure out a way to set this up. One of the funds is TCAF, which I assume will just make annual distributions, so reinvesting manually should be no big deal. The other is USFR, which pays dividends monthly.