Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

My Chrysler/Fiat/Volkwagen/Canadian/ ? / vehicle

edited July 2014 in Off-Topic
As a young, punk kid; I worked in the auto industry in Michigan for about 18 months.
With the auto industry being what it was in Michigan; and the role it still plays today, I still watch this business sector to guage other things related to investing overall.
There has been for many years, a given amount of content overlap among the big 3 auto companies from years past; with some vendor parts being shared. Today? Well, we know this mix is now endless as to content and where a part may actually have been given birth. I purchased an AC/Delco repair part a few years ago, that had previously been made at a hugh Michigan facility (since leveled to the ground several years ago) and the country of origin was Slovenia.

By choice of vehicle type for our house, several of our vehicles over the years have been built in Canada; about 1 hour drive away.
We would joke that our car or van was indeed foreign built, by the fine workers of Canada.

One current vehicle, a Chrysler 300, is assembled in Canada; with parts from many places, including a much refined V-6 motor from Michigan and an amazing 9 speed transmission, that at the time (2012) was provided by Audi, of Germany. The transmissions, if I recall properly, are now being built in Michigan. A side note: this car, at 60 mph, flat expressway and little headwind obtains 38 mpg.

Anyway, another potential mix of product in the below link.

My Chrysler/Fiat/Volkwagen/Canadian/ ? / vehicle

Regards,
Catch

Comments