Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

A Trump presidency & the markets

Anyone know any economist who's put out a convincing model of what a Trump presidency means for the markets, not just today, but for the next four years? Here are a few rapid thoughts, but I'm not an expert, I'd love to hear from or see a link to someone who's already thought hard about this:

1. More trade conflicts: bad for all markets
2. Giant tax cuts = bigger deficits = more inflation + short-term growth: good for stock markets at least for a year or two, bad for Treasuries
3. Greater geopolitical uncertainty: bad for stock markets, good for Swiss Franc, German govt bonds, gold, etc.
4. Unified Congress + Presidency = better chance of a swift policy response when the next crisis comes: good for all markets.

I'm trying to stick just to the market impact, based on his stated positions, and keep out my personal opinion on these policies.

Comments

• Please don't take this the wrong way. I think we all are entirely too sanguine about our intelligence and abilities to do what you are trying to do. I don't think you are looking to do day trading, so I don't think there is enough time to look at observable evidence rather than predict anything.

Tonight, I might go 100% in cash in my retirement accounts. WTF cares what individual stocks/securities are doing?
  • This is a mutual fund board rather than a stock board. With that said, natural resources could do well here going forward. (Coal etc) Green energy is in the doghouse especially companies that are being propped by Wash D.C.