Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Damned Lies

MJG
edited November 2013 in Fund Discussions
Hi Guys,

I just don’t like statistics, I love statistics. As a youngster, I self-taught myself the arithmetical long-division process; I was motivated by a desire to calculate baseball players batting averages. Statistics are ubiquitous, especially in the financial world. As George Bernard Shaw observed “It is the mark of a truly intelligent person to be moved by statistics.”

Statistics serve useful purposes, especially when they are fully understood and their limitations are recognized. But statistics can be managed, can be both manipulated and abused. Near the end on my post, I’ll provide a couple of excellent commonsense references that explore statistics’ darkside in an entertaining and almost non-mathematical format.

Many splendid quotes succinctly document the dangers of mangled or misguided statistics. Besides his most famous “Lies, damn lies, and statistics” saying, Mark Twain also astutely remarked that “Facts are stubborn, but statistics are more pliable”. Scientist Ernest Rutherford noted that “If your experiment needs statistics, you ought to have done a better experiment”. On a higher level, Henry Clay concluded perfectly that “ Statistics are no substitute for judgment”. Hundreds of such quotes are easily accessible.

Without formally using statistical data sets and probability-based analysis, we make everyday decisions that are grounded in perceived statistical influences and odds considerations. I say perceived for it is sometimes the case that we think we know what isn’t actually so.