Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

New guy just making a brief introduction

Hello all,

Craig Edwards here, I'm just writing to briefly introduce myself to a community that thus far I find to be quite unique. By "unique" I guess I mean not focused on commercial agendas (aka SA for example) and maintaining a high level of competence and civility in postings. Guess I'll find out when I say something stupid...:), but so far so good!

I'm a newly retired electrical engineer and a long term DIY investor... and would generally give myself a C- (maybe a D) in investing skills, considering how much I've varied course over the last 45 years. Like most of us I guess I started out knowing nothing about investing so I just invested a small amount each month in a mutual funds via an IRA. (that part worked out well...). As my career progressed and I managed to save more outside of the IRA I started branching out and with "help" of brokers and other financial "professionals" I tried all sorts of things. Looking back of course most were mistakes but somehow with some good luck and the willingness to keep learning I've arrived at "retirement" with sufficient (I believe...) funds for a modest lifestyle for myself and my wife.

In any event I'm here to learn more about risk management with the goal of constructing a longer term simplified portfolio that can be managed by rules and less by emotions and current events. And because I have a lot of other interests, another part of the goal is to reduce the time/energy required to do this to say a once a week or even better a once a month checkup.