Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

BUY -- SELL -- PONDER -- MARCH

Comments

• edited March 2020
    A yikes day for sure. I am in Michigan and our restaurants and bars are closing today, except for take out. Dentist just called and is closing until 4/6. I am a teacher and I do not think we will go back until September. One more day like this and we are looking at 2000 on the S&P.
  • edited March 2020
    johnN said:

Maybe lots more pain for 2 -4 wks, at least until numbers covid19 stabilize or go down at least usa/eu...severe contractions globally at least short terms

There was a time when I would have said something like "a firm grasp of the obvious". But given the ongoing performance of the present federal administration I now realize that "a firm grasp of the obvious" is actually a fairly difficult and impressive achievement.
  • Old_Joe said:

johnN said:

Maybe lots more pain for 2 -4 wks, at least until numbers covid19 stabilize or go down at least usa/eu...severe contractions globally at least short terms

There was a time when I would have said something like "a firm grasp of the obvious". But given the ongoing performance of the present federal administration I now realize that "a firm grasp of the obvious" is actually a fairly difficult and impressive achievement.
    Simple doesn't mean easy.
  • edited March 2020
    @OJ - true dat!

Bought 'some' FTEC - Fidelity's MSCI Info Tech ETF today. Granted it's an index but it's two largest holdings are AAPL and MSFT and they make up 38+% of the holdings. No brainer to me and I'll buy more if it continues to go down.